Baby Red Roasted Garlic Whipped Potatoes

Roasted Garlic Whipped Potatoes

Last night, being a Monday night and all, I didn’t really feel like cooking and I wanted something “stick to your ribs good” and fast. It seemed a good night for some precooked Black Forest ham, frozen green peas and my world famous (I wish) Baby Red Roasted Garlic Whipped Potatoes!

Now, I don’t know what you called your potatoes where you came from or what you call them now, but depending on your family’s ancestral roots, down here in Texas they go by many names. I grew up having them called creamed potatoes. My husband grew up with whipped potatoes. I’ve also heard the term mashed potatoes. I guess it all depends on ingredients and the preparation method.

My mother used heavy cream, thus creamed potatoes. My husband’s mother used an electric hand mixer to whip, thus whipped potatoes. Some people use a potato masher, resulting in a more rustic, lumpier product, thus mashed potatoes. What’s a potato masher, you ask? See below (shaking my head).

Potato Masher

Why do I have one? What do you do when the power goes out people???? How are you going to make your potatoes then? Huh? Got to think with the old noggin’ (tapping my index finger to my temple).

Now to move on with some basic tips. This recipe is for two servings, so I only roast four cloves of garlic. If you double, triple, quadruple or whatever this recipe, feel free to use an entire bulb of garlic. Simply cut off the top of the bulb, drizzle generously with extra-virgin olive oil and roast until it’s soft and squishy. When it’s done, let it cool, then squeeze out all the gooey goodness into the potatoes. You might want to roast the garlic ahead of time so it has time to cool off, otherwise, you’re gonna burn your little mitts. Don’t forget to use the garlicky oil left over from roasting the bulb. I do four peeled cloves as in the picture below for just me and the hubs.

Roasted Garlic 1

Now, close that little foil packet up real tight and bake in the toaster oven at 375 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes until it looks like this:

Roasted Garlic 2

You’re gonna use the cloves and all the oil in the potatoes along with the other ingredients. YUM!

Now, I don’t peel my potatoes because the peel is where all the good nutrients are. But, if you like your potatoes peeled, go right ahead!

Okay, okay, here’s the recipe! I may be prejudiced, but I think these are the best, hands down, roasted garlic whipped potatoes I’ve ever had. You be the judge!

Baby Red Roasted Garlic Whipped Potatoes

Yield: 2 servings

Difficulty: Easy

4 medium size baby red potatoes

4 garlic cloves

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

¼ cup milk

1 teaspoon dried tarragon, crushed

1 teaspoon kosher salt

½ teaspoon black pepper

Place four peeled garlic cloves in aluminum foil, drizzle with olive oil and crimp foil tightly closed. Place in a 375 degree oven and bake until tender, about 25 to 30 minutes until garlic is caramelized and soft. A toaster oven works great for this.

Scrub potatoes and cut into large chunks. Place in a large saucepan. Cover with cold water. Bring up to a gentle boil. Cook until potatoes are fork tender, about 15 minutes. Drain and keep covered.

Put garlic cloves with the oil and butter in the saucepan with the potatoes and whip with a hand mixer. Add the milk and next 3 ingredients and whip until they are somewhat smooth. Additional milk may be added for a smoother consistency. Adjust seasonings to taste.

 

 

Leave a Reply

