So Delicious I Just Had To Write About It!

Hoisin Chicken

So, I usually only bore you with one blog post per week, BUT, I made this last night and it’s really, really, really delicious, soooooo, I thought it would be a huge injustice if I didn’t share. Was that one exceptionally long run-on sentence? Oh well! I’m really turned on by this dish for several reasons. One, it’s super easy. Two, it’s relatively healthy. Three, it’s fast. Four, it’s DELICIOUS!

Okay, I’m not a big fan of processed foods, but I usually make the exception when it comes to Asian sauces. That’s one area where my culinary school education failed me. I’d love to take a trip to some Asian countries and learn a thing or two, but until then, I visit the specialty aisle in my local supermarket or, better yet, visit the Asian market and stock up on all kinds of goodies! That being said, I used a bottled hoisin sauce for this dish and I wouldn’t change a thing.

I’m not going to give you exact measurements on this. You can adjust amounts depending on how many servings you need. I made two servings as usual for me and the hubs.

My intention was to make this even healthier by using brown basmati rice, but being such a stupid head, I forgot until after I had hubs put the chicken on the grill that it takes 45 minutes to make. Soooo, we had regular basmati rice. Which, to be fair, is a lot prettier. Whatever!

Anyways, here goes! I used one 6 to 8 ounce skinless, boneless chicken breast per person. I brushed a little hoisin sauce on each side and sent the grill master outside to do what men do over a fire. Meanwhile, I sautéed some red, yellow and orange bell pepper strips along with some sliced green onions in about 1 tablespoon of coconut oil. (I love to use coconut oil for all my Asian cooking. It adds so much flavor to Thai and Indian curries, stir-fry dishes and any noodle creations.) Once gently stir-fried, I set the peppers and onions aside. I heated additional hoisin sauce to douse the chicken with once it was off the grill and made the rice. I sliced the green tops of the onions for garnish to use along with some sesame seeds. I also thought the little spikey green onion tops looked cool, so instead of slicing those up, I left them long and used them for garnish as well.

Assembly was easy! Big blob of rice, peppers and onions go down, slice the chicken real purty (Texas, remember?), place on top of the peppers, douse with a little more hoisin, sprinkle with green onion tops and sesame seed garnish! That’s it! Quick, easy, done, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

