Texas Chilaquiles

Chilaquiles

Hola! So sorry I didn’t post a recipe last week for you guys on the blog, but it was the week from H – E – double toothpicks! Resulting in the need for the best hangover breakfast cure ever………..Chilaquiles!!!

Uh oh, maybe I just gave you TMI! But don’t worry, my hangovers are pretty mild these days as advanced age pretty much determines two things. Number one, wine is about as stiff as my drinks go these days; and, two, it doesn’t take much to trigger said hangovers.

That being said, I’d love chilaquiles whether I had a hangover or not! I mean really, Mexican food for breakfast? Uhh, yes please! They are muy bueno!

Now for a little history on chilaquiles. They vary by region. Of course, I’m biased towards the Texas version, but I’m sure there’s people within Texas that make them different than I do. Everybody kind of has their own spin and they’re usually served as breakfast or brunch or sometimes late at night after a wedding or some other celebration that involves lots of partying and drinking. They work great with leftover stale tortilla chips. I always ask my server to put our chips from the table in a take-home bag when we go to our favorite Mexican joint. Some people like to pour the salsa over the tortilla chips in the skillet to soften, others prefer their tortillas a little crispy, so they pour the warm salsa over the chips at the last minute. I prefer soft tortillas chips so mine go in the iron skillet with the salsa and get cooked down a bit.

Chilaquiles are usually served with refried beans, eggs (scrambled or fried), meat of some kind and garnished with queso fresco or cheddar cheese, onions, avocados, cilantro, Mexican crema or sour cream. I serve mine with sunny side up fried eggs, refried black beans, venison chorizo, queso fresco and cilantro. Now, I make my own venison chorizo, but that recipe is for another day. Feel free to purchase Mexican style chorizo at you local market or just serve with some canned refried beans.

Adding a little bacon drippings to canned refried beans makes a huge flavor difference! You don’t save your bacon drippings???? What the Whaaaat??!!?? You are missing out on some real flavor, let me tell ya! A little bit goes a long way and it’s not like you’re eating it every day, soooooooo. I also fry my eggs in bacon drippings. Shhhh, don’t tell your cardiologist!

Anyways, here’s the recipe for the salsa and the instructions for making the chilaquiles. And, no, this isn’t salsa that you dip your chips in. This is salsa more like ranchero salsa. I use it not only for chilaquiles but for my cheese and onion enchiladas, chicken enchiladas and my avocado enchiladas as well. This recipe will make more salsa than needed for the chilaquiles. I freeze what I don’t use. I promise I’m going to get better at taking pictures along the way while I’m making these recipes. I think I can bribe the hubs into helping out with that! Here goes!

Texas Chilaquiles

Yield: 4 Servings

Difficulty: Easy

6 cups stale tortilla chips

8 eggs

2 tablespoon bacon drippings

15 ounce can diced tomatoes

15 ounce water

3 dried chiles de arbol, stemmed, torn in half, seeded

½ large yellow onion, cut in quarters

4 garlic cloves, roughly chopped

2 tablespoons tomato paste

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground cumin

Pinch dried Mexican oregano

½ teaspoon black pepper

Place the tomatoes, water and the next 8 ingredients in a heavy saucepan over medium-high heat. Bring to a gentle boil.

Turn down to simmer and cook for 30 minutes until the chiles and the onion are tender.

Remove from the heat and cool slightly. Pour into a blender.

Holding the blender lid on tightly with a cloth dish towel, start the blender slowly. Increase the speed and liquefy the salsa. Use caution, the contents of the blender will still be very hot!

Heat an iron skillet over medium-high heat. Melt 1 tablespoon of the bacon drippings in the skillet and fry four of the eggs to your desired doneness. Remove, keep warm and repeat with remaining bacon drippings and eggs.

Do not clean out the skillet. Immediately put the tortilla chips in the skillet and pour half of the salsa over the chips. (Freeze the remaining for later use). Using a spatula, stir and push down the chips until all the chips are coated and they become somewhat softened. The goal is to slightly soften the chips. You don’t want completely soggy and mushy tortilla chips.

For each serving, serve ¼ of the chip mixture immediately with two fried eggs on top with sides of your choice. Garnish with what you desire and enjoy!

Hasta la vista!

 

Leave a Reply

