Chicken Burrito Bowls! Quick & Easy!

burrito-bowl

So, I didn’t notice the one dead piece of cilantro now glaring at me in the picture until after my husband ate the whole plate! Guess what? I’m not perfect! Good news! That means no one has to be perfect in the kitchen to make a fabuloso, fast, family pleasing meal!

Ok, confession. A Facebook friend of mine shared a Tasty video for Chicken Burrito Bowls, said she tried it and that it was really easy and tasty, soooooo, I thought I would give it a try, too! But, of course, me being me, I had to give it my own little twist here and there. So, the recipe isn’t exactly as it appears in the video, but I have to give Tasty the initial credit where credit is due as I hope they would do the same if they adapted one of my recipes. If you’re not familiar with Tasty, search for them on Facebook. They do quickie cooking videos that really help the home cook get food on the table in a jiffy!

Anyway, here’s my adapted recipe. It seriously only takes about 10 minutes at the most to get this in the oven and once done, takes about another 20 minutes, maybe, to get it on the table and in your belly!

CHICKEN BURRITO BOWLS

Difficulty: Easy

Yield: 4 Servings

3 – 8 ounce boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 bell pepper sliced thinly (green, red, yellow, your choice)

1 yellow onion sliced thinly

Extra-virgin olive oil for drizzling

Salt & pepper

Tajin Classico Seasoning (see below)

3/4 cup prepared salsa (your choice, I use medium)

1 cup parboiled rice prepared per package directions

2 tablespoons lime juice

2 tablespoon chopped cilantro

1 teaspoon salt

1 can black beans, drained

1 cup frozen corn, thawed

1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil

Cilantro, sour cream, sliced jalapenos, shredded cheddar cheese, sliced limes, chopped tomatoes, pico de gallo –  your choice for garnish!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line a large jelly roll pan with foil and spray generously with nonstick cooking spray.

Place the sliced bell peppers along the left side of the pan. Line the chicken breasts horizontally down the middle of the pan. Place the sliced onion along the right side of the pan. Drizzle everything with the olive oil. Sprinkle the peppers and the onions with the salt and pepper and toss slightly. Sprinkle the chicken generously with the Tajin seasoning, then coat each breast with 1/4 cup of the salsa.

Place in the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

In the meantime, cook the rice according to package directions. Once cooked, add the lime juice, chopped cilantro and salt. Keep warm.

Warm and black beans.

Place one teaspoon olive oil in a small skillet and sear the corn until it is slightly charred.

To serve, place 1/4 of the rice on a plate, top with 1/4 of the beans, 1/4 of the corn. Repeat on remaining plates. Slice the 3 chicken breasts into strips, making sure the salsa stays on top and distribute evenly between the four plates. Top with your choice of garnishes.

I chose to garnish mine with a dollop of sour cream, chopped cilantro and some killer red jalapenos I grew in my garden. For a even heartier meal you could serve this with more of the garnishes and either warm flour or corn tortillas. And, to really complete the meal, don’t forget margaritas or sangria!

Now, a couple of tips. This is a really healthy recipe IF you use the right ingredients and you keep the portion sizes under control. I use parboiled rice whenever I can because it’s just healthier for you! Parboiled rice is boiled in the husk which boosts it’s nutritional value. The method in which it is produced drives the nutrients from the bran to the endosperm making parboiled white rice 80% nutritionally similar to brown rice. Also, because it’s partially cooked, it cooks faster on your stove! Win, win!

Also, I use organic canned black beans. I use organic whenever I can. Now, I don’t break the bank, but if organic is available, I use it.

I avoid low-fat anything! So no low-fat sour cream or cheese. When manufacturers remove the natural fat from dairy (or anything for that matter) they replace it with all kinds of unhealthy chemicals and sugar which all act as inflammatory factors in your body. No bueno! Stay away from the fake stuff. Eat as close to nature as possible. Everyone needs a little bit of saturated fat in their daily intake…….a little bit.

Now, about the Tajin Classico Seasoning. If you live anywhere in the Southwest, you already know what this stuff is. Any respectable grocery store will have it in the aisle that has authentic Mexican ingredients. And, if they don’t, well, then they’re not a respectable grocery store! At least not in Texas! Anyway, for those not fortunate enough to live in this great state I call home, here’s a picture:

20160907_151930

If you can’t find it in your store, I’m sure you could probably order it online somewhere or if all else fails, your could use taco seasoning like the original Tasty recipe suggests.

Ok, so y’all make this and let me know what you think! It’s yummy, really fast, healthy and fills you up on small budget! Winner, winner, chicken dinner! Mexican style!

 

 

Leave a Reply

